Fester

10433791_760447757378671_1925160487368476195_n
Fester, oil on canvas

My paintings are meant to express emotions. To me, the emotion expressed in Fester is very clear. And if it isn’t just from looking at it, check out the title.

It is an open wound, a sore, and it is festering.

Up until my junior year of college I never had a reason to fester. Life, although generally boring, was fine. No real drama and no (real) reason to be upset.

But then it happened. My most dramatic moment. My first college boyfriend broke up with me and a few weeks later was dating my best friend and roommate. The most dramatic part being that they initially lied to me about it.

I was angry and upset and I began to fester in my awful feelings.

Fester was created over two years after that whole debacle. I was more than over the situation and onto a new beau, but after this painting was finished and I saw what I had created those memories and feelings came to mind. I wasn’t transported back and I didn’t feel the way I had before, but I remembered very vividly how I had felt. What it was like to fester in anger and pain.

And I liked it.

I liked that my painting had reminded me of, and in a way brought back, those feelings. It showed, at least to me, that my paintings had depth and were actually communicating real emotions.

It showed me that I was good at what I was doing.

And that is a liberating feeling. Hopefully you can see emotions in my paintings and hopefully it will be an enjoyable experience for you. Let me know what you think in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “Fester

  1. Pingback: Disconnected – KLH art

  2. Pingback: Holding On To You – KLH art

  3. Pingback: How I Found Myself in Painting – KLH art

Leave a Reply

