Losing Faith

chalk pastel drawing
Losing Faith, chalk pastel on paper

At the time I titled this piece, it wasn’t a very personal title. I looked at my sad light-flower and decided it looked more than depressed. It looked like it was losing faith in everything. It was dull and detached and feeling devoid.

So I titled it Losing Faith to further communicate what I saw in it.

Looking at this drawing now, it’s more personal. I know a lot of people my age who are losing their faith or have lost it completely. I’ve gone through ups and downs, but overall I still believe the same things I always have.

Faith-wise, life has been mostly easy for me. Even though (more recently) I question things, I’ve never lost hope or belief. I’ve always held the same fundamental beliefs. So when my friends go through the process of questioning everything, I don’t know what to tell them. What to say to help them believe.

I also don’t want to force things on people, so I generally try to be neutral.

One of my best friends has been slipping further and further away from her faith. I have no idea what to say to her. Especially when she’s part of the reason I had such a strong faith in high school. She invited me to her youth group and from there things got better for me.

Since college things have gotten harder for her. I wish I knew what to say to help her either believe or at least feel comfortable in her decision, but I have no idea. I’ve always been a good listener but maybe not the best at giving advice.

Hopefully she’ll figure out what she wants and what she believes, and even if she loses her faith I hope she doesn’t lose herself.

One thought on “Losing Faith

  1. Pingback: Re-Do:Why I Paint Over Old (and not so old) Paintings – KLH art

Leave a Reply

