Surprise! It’s the Grim Reaper

abstract oil painting on canvas
Reaper, oil on canvas

I really enjoy painting. It’s fun, it’s calming, it’s interesting. But because of the way I’ve started painting, it’s also surprising.

Like for this painting, Reaper, I wasn’t expecting there to be a slender man standing on the right side of the canvas, but after a few short painting sessions I found him creepily pointing right there.

I enjoy finding surprises like this in my paintings. Maybe there’s some artistic intuition going on, but I just really appreciate looking at the paint I’ve placed on the canvas and finding something new in it every time. Most often I’ll find a landscape or seascape, but I usually can pull a figure of some sort out of the background as well.

In Reaper, after I found the figure I added to him, giving him more shape and detail.I also added to the foreground and background, trying to make it a more identifiable space without being too specific. It it mountains? They sky? A pond? I don’t know, but I enjoy the way the colors and lines work together to create such an ambiguous space.

I started this painting in July and finished it in early September, but I thought it appropriate for the Halloween season so I’ve waited until now to post it.

What do you think? Is it ominous enough or is it missing something I haven’t caught on to? Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Surprise! It’s the Grim Reaper

  1. Pingback: My Experience with Beer and Painting – KLH art

  2. Pingback: Common Elements – KLH art

Leave a Reply

