From the Imagination

While I may be a relatively creative person, creating images from my mind has never been my strong suit. I used to want to do realistic work, but after I realized how much work it took I pretty much gave that up.

It has always been easier for me to use intuition to create abstractions than it has to create something realistic. Every once in a while I’ll combine the two to create something abstract but recognizable.

oil painting
Slipping, oil on hand stretched canvas

Slipping combines a little bit of the realism and the abstraction. It may not be particularly realistic in color, but the stones certainly look like stones. Right?

The big blobby thing is where the title comes from. At the time I was very into creating colorful orbs, but my teacher told me to make it different. To make it more abstract. I decided to break the shape of the orb and add some highlights and shadows for interest.

It’s not clear what the shape is or why I made a little rock person looking at it, but at the time I was also into creating rock people.

It’s a pretty simple composition, but that’s part of its charm. It’s more about the colors than anything else. They are much more in depth, with highlights and shadows to increase interest. There’s a range of colors for contrasts and complements. Your eye moves around the canvas (which was hand stretched by me) to follow the bright colors. The background is a bright color to help the blob pop out even more.

Overall, the images on this canvas are balanced, and I’m happy with how it turned out. I was trying to combine a few things I was working on at the time, and create something from my imagination that was both based in reality and abstraction. While perhaps not a masterpiece, this painting makes me happy when I look at it. For art that I’ve made, that’s really all I ask.

Leave a Reply

