Storms and Such

Towards the end of my senior year of college I stopped trying to plan every step of my paintings. Because of this, my more recent art is more focused on color and how different colors relate to each other. I’m not so focused on the subject of my art. I usually just go with my gut and see what comes of it. So my abstract art is about color.

But it’s also about emotion. I used to try to have an emotion in mind before I started painting, but lately I haven’t done that. Instead, I paint and see what emotion I find in the paint. With how chaotic the colors and brushstrokes I choose tend to be, my art often represents some sort of turmoil. Confusion, anger, what have you.

That’s usually what I see. While I try to hide it, I’m definitely a confused/angry person a lot of the time. I get annoyed and stressed out very easily, and I think my paintings show that with the erratic brushstrokes and wide range of colors.

When I look at my paintings, I see a struggle, a storm, hidden in the bright colors. Not to toot my own horn, but it’s kind of like Twenty One Pilots. Their music is bright and inviting, but the lyrics have a darker turn and deep meaning.

Take “Migraine” for example.

‘Cause Sundays are my suicide days,
I don’t know why they always seem so dismal,
Thunderstorms, clouds, snow, and a slight drizzle,
Whether it’s the weather or the letters by my bed,
Sometimes death seems better than the migraine in my head

And while Tyler Joseph sings these dark words, there’s an a lighthearted electronic beat in the background and a complicated drum beat keeping time.

Sometimes I listen to songs like “Migraine” while I paint, but even when I don’t my paintings come out with the same chaotic and harsh look.

Below you’ll find some of my paintings. Some are from the last year, some from when I was still in school. I think that while they are all very distinct, they can be seen as some sort of storm.

What do you see when you look at these paintings?

 

Leave a Reply

