Art Journals

Probably my favorite project from my Design I class was to start an art journal. I don’t remember how many pages we were required to have completed at the time, but since then I’ve filled my first book and started a second.

I’ve added and altered numerous pages to my original art journal I started in college, even altering the front and back covers several times, while other pages are in their original state from over 10 years ago.

The pages include quotes and images from others, as well as original paintings and drawings by me, stickers from letters I’ve received, fortune cookie fortunes galore, and much more.

It’s so much fun to create layouts (both planned and spur of the moment). I imagine it to be much like scrap-booking, but without any rules at all.

My newer art journal isn’t completed yet. I haven’t committed to a front cover design, I’ve added more content to several of the pages I’ve already created, and there are many pages I haven’t put anything on yet.

This newer art journal is also different in that it’s not a recycled book like the original, but an empty planner that never got used. The paper is much thinner, which is probably a good thing with how much I keep adding, but the cover is a far different material that doesn’t seem to let things stick as well.

Regardless of these differences, I’m having a great time filling it with art and ideas. If you’re ever looking for a creative outlet that doesn’t with little to no skill or planning involved, I highly recommend creating an art journal.

Leave a comment