Difficult Things and Butterfly Wings

To date, one of my favorite titles. I painted this back in college and recently added a few finishing touches. If I remember correctly, it started out as a painting of a regular old monarch butterfly wing, and I believe we had some sort of assignment which caused me to turn it into a more abstract image. And I finally got a frame for it.

Butterfly wings are truly magical. Iridescent, colorful, and beyond delicate. My painting doesn’t really capture any of that. But there’s something about it that I enjoy regardless.

There is now some iridescence (thanks to paints I got for Christmas from my brother!), but in the abstract parts rather than the wings themselves. I also added the light teal color recently to give the piece some more contrast.

I truly love the movement of this piece, the color selection, and the overall texture. Even though the majority of the painting was completed roughly 10 years ago, I find it still fits in with my aesthetic quite well. Just look at it on my wall, looking as if it was always meant to be there.

I don’t have another square canvas board, but if I get my hands on one chances are I may take a go at another abstracted wing. Maybe next time I can go with a dragonfly.

Leave a comment