My Passive Passion

I love creating art, but sometimes I am really not up for being seriously creative. That may not make sense, but there are times when the thought of putting brush to canvas is more stressful sounding than fun.

When I’m creatively or generally burnt out, I really enjoy making necklaces. I started way back in the day (that feels like a joke but it has been nearly 10 years) when I felt the need to supplement my paintings at a craft fair.

I have since become low-key obsessed with beads and how to make necklaces. I often have to stop myself from buying more beads when I don’t know exactly what I’ll do with them because I have a rather large box already full of beads, closures, and wires. (Image below is not the large box, it is the contents of one box that goes inside the large box.)

When work is really busy and I’m fried at the end of the day, making necklaces while I watch TV is fun and typically calming as well.

I love finding new color combinations and styles, which is part of why I often find myself buying new beads even though I have plenty in stock.

I often end up giving the necklaces as gifts (or letting my mom take a bunch of them for herself) because I don’t often do craft fairs these days and I have no idea what else to do with my “inventory.” But I don’t mind that at all, it’s just fun having an undemanding creative outlet.

Leave a comment